Yes, I Now Own A Green Fur Coat! – McCalls 6800 Pattern Review

 

Like the headline says, now I own a green fur coat! Hancock Fabrics had a sale and that fur was marked down to a price I just couldn’t pass up.  I had already decided that McCalls Pattern 6800 was something i needed to have.  It’s for a princess seamed coat in varying lengths and collars.

As a pattern review, I chose View C without the belt.  Fur is not a recommended fabric for this pattern, but i do what I want! 🙂 So green fur (faux, of course) was used for the outer shell, and blue crepe back satin for the lining. The instructions were clear and easy to understand.  I made a muslin of the outer shell first, and chose the smallest size.  My deviations were omitting the belt, belt loops, and buttons, I added a fur hook at the waist, and bagged the lining.  I was hesitant about the green at first, but I love this coat! It’s heavy and soft and warm, and will be delightful to wear come January.  I’ll end with the obligatory spinning pic 🙂

One response to “Yes, I Now Own A Green Fur Coat! – McCalls 6800 Pattern Review

  1. Pingback: Am I Inspiration for a Michael Kors ad? | Elle L Silks

Leave a Reply

