I Like Drapey Tops So I Made Another One – Simplicity 1588 Pattern Review

 

 100_2965

I’m going to preface this post by saying, I know patterns have recommended fabrics.  They are clearly printed on the back of the envelope. I do read them, however sometimes I ignore them :).  Sometimes this method works out quite well and sometimes this method creates garments either impossible, or darn difficult to get into and out of.  But….if I can get in and out of it, I consider it a success and carry on lol. For this one, I could get in and out of it so, Yay! 🙂  If you don’t want to be very careful when putting this on, don’t do what I did. 🙂

As for what I did, Simplicity 1588 has a wrap front top pattern sized for stretch knits only.  I ignored that instruction and made one out of a nonstretch chiffon left over from the Bernina 780 pattern wrap dress feature in my post here. I also did not use bias tape for the armholes.  I used the fabric selvage as the front edge (which you don’t see as it’s part of the drape), and  narrowed hemmed everything that wasn’t french seamed.  I wasn’t sure it would work out, but it did. This was the first iteration, and I didn’t make a muslin first, so I will probably lengthen the top the next go round.  I also didn’t feel like changing into a pink bra so I put on a tank top underneath for coverage.  Generally speaking, I prefer nonstretch fabrics to knits and will most likely make this again this way.

100_2966

Leave a Reply

