A Simple Spring Suit for Work – McCalls 7054 and 6844 Pattern Review

100_3201  100_3204

I finally decided go through more of the fabric I used on the vintage looking wrap Vogue dress to try out McCalls 7054.  I bought the bolt last year when I found it at $1 a yard. The pattern seemed simple and i made a fitting muslin months ago, and needed no alterations.  I also decided, at the last minute, that a matching jacket would be nice for work.  McCalls 6844 had rave reviews with people using knits (as instructed), as well as wovens (those rebels). So this review is going to be a “two-fer”, since it doesn’t make sense to post the same pictures twice.

The skirt and lining went together quickly, the pieces are all similar.  I do want to do the floor length version eventually.  That version requires 6 yards of 60″ or 10 yards of 45″ fabric, so it may be a while before I find one that A. catches my eye, B. has enough on the bolt, C. is inexpensive enough to warrant me purchasing it.  The skirt is comfortable and the fullness is below the hip, so twirling doesn’t reveal the panties, (or lack thereof for those of you of an adventurous sort).

100_3202  100_3212

I didn’t make a muslin of the jacket, I used the tissue measurements to determine which size to use.  My knit version would have been an extra small, and the version you see is a medium.  It also went together quickly.  For the future, in a woven, I would draft the sleeves slightly wider around the elbow and wrist.  However, the fit there as originally drafted would make perfect sense if I had used the recommended fabric type.  I did not interface the collar band, and am happy with that decision.

100_3196  100_3200

I think the patterns go together well and I would like to use both in the future, together and separately.

4 responses to “A Simple Spring Suit for Work – McCalls 7054 and 6844 Pattern Review

  1. Super cute suit or ensemble?! The patterns are great, but I am in awe of your fabric purchase. I can’t believe you found that fabric for a dollar a yard. Who could resist?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

