A Simple Sheath Dress – McCalls 7014 Pattern Review

100_3231_Fotor 100_3226_Fotor

I saw this pattern sometime ago, and something about it kept me coming back to it, so on a McCall’s pattern sale day, I picked it up.  Who doesn’t need a simple sheath dress?

McCalls 7014 is shown on the envelope in plaid as seen to the right.  So I thought, why not, I can do plaid, it’s on sale. 🙂  Little did I know how much that little decision would affect the amount of time it would take to complete this dress.  Pattern matching added more time in the pattern placement and cutting phase as well as the sewing phase.  After that, whipping through the lining was a breeze.

As a pattern review, I chose the size 6 based on the finished garment measurements on the envelope.  I made View A without the pockets and with an invisible zipper.  I was drawn to the neckline, and I liked that it’s lined and doesn’t have a waistline seam.  As you can see, I used a pink, white, and black plaid cotton with a beige polyester/rayon blend lining.  I omitted the pockets, and used an invisible zipper instead of a standard one.  I really liked the neckline on this dress.  I rounded out the collar corners this time, I may make them points for a winter version, but I like this softer version.

100_3234_Fotor

This is a good sheath dress pattern for me. I had to make no alterations for it to fit comfortably. I probably won’t make it in a plaid again 🙂 (Yes, that’s the laziness talking).

100_3223_Fotor  100_3228_Fotor

 

11 responses to “A Simple Sheath Dress – McCalls 7014 Pattern Review

Leave a Reply

