A Sunny, Summer Dress – McCalls 7081 Pattern Review

100_3268_Fotor  100_3274_Fotor

I’ve had my eye on this pattern since it debuted.  Crossover front, full skirt, what’s not to like?  It’s also unlined, with a side zipper.  Since Hancock had a sale on cotton prints, this yellow dotted print came home with me to make this dress.  I wore it to work for pictures of course and I’ve had some good responses.  A VP walked by this morning and immediately complimented my “summery” look.  A co-worker told me she sees yellow flowers when she looks at, but she likes it.  And as I was walking out to lunch our receptionist mentioned I looked quite sunny on a very sunny day.

As a pattern review, This is another pattern where the finished garment sizes are odd.  My bust falls under the smallest measurement (of course lol) but my waist went up to a size 12 (or more but we’re not going to talk about that).  After calling my mom and insisting that I would not be buying a plus size pattern as a ready to wear size 0-4 (she laughed and said “You’ve got to do what you’ve got to do.”), I decided to make a 6 in the bodice and fit it to the size 12 waistband.

100_3267_Fotor 100_3272_Fotor

I made View A. I did deviate from the instructions for the collar and waistband, simply because i dislike hand stitching.  For the collar, I pressed the folded side to 3/8″ instead of 5/8″ and stitched in the ditch on the outside of the collar.  I only had to slipstitch the corners to secure it.  For the waistband I did the same thing and didn’t have to slipstitch at all.  This pattern calls for fusible interfacing in the collar and waistband, however I used polyester organza.  I did have to cut one side of the skirt at an “I’m going to make this fit” angle.  I assume this is because cotton shrinks and I bought the yardage noted for a size 6.  I don’t think it’s noticeable with the pattern on this fabric, and I let the skirt hang for a day before hemming and there was no noticeable stretching.

100_3273_Fotor 100_3275_Fotor
I wanted to work with being able to blend sizes together to create a better fit and this was my chance to do so.  I would like to make it again in a fabric like a solid colored satin.

7 responses to “A Sunny, Summer Dress – McCalls 7081 Pattern Review

  1. Beautiful job! The waist sizes are always too small for me as well. Hard to believe anyone has the waist proportions for a one-size pattern. You do an amazing job blending the sizes together!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Have you thought of shirtdress in print? * hWardrobe

Leave a Reply

