A Floral Dress in the Fall – McCalls 6834 Pattern Review

100_3305_Fotor 100_3303_Fotor

McCalls 6834 caught my eye when I saw the full skirt on it so I picked it up some time ago.  I never ended up buying enough fabric for it whenever I went to the store, and technically I still didn’t.  The pattern recommends 3-1/8 yards plus 5/8
yards in contrast for the binding for the smallest size of view A. The floral print you see above was 70% off on a time limited sale when I purchased it.  I picked up three yards thinking I couldn’t pass up the deal, and would figure out what I would make later.  Fast forward to later at home, I was perusing my pattern stash and knew this was the one.  After arranging and rearranging the pattern pieces, I just barely managed to fit all the pieces (on grain, even :)) on the three yards by cutting all the pieces on a single layer.  Even the binding!  Talk about using every inch of fabric. 🙂

As a pattern review, I made the size 6, in View A. The floral fabric has a nice feel and a small amount of stretch.  I found it in the Spring Coordinates section of Hancock Fabrics.  I picked up another print that felt the same (also 3 yards) that was also 70% off.  Hopefully I will make a decision on the pattern for that one soon as well.  I really liked the construction of this dress.  It’s simple, though a little time consuming, but the result is worth it.  I like that there is no waist seam. 100_3300_Fotor 100_3302_Fotor

I love the fullness achieved in the skirt.  Speaking of the skirt, the pattern calls for a 1-1/4″ hem.  I used the same depth but did not follow the sewing instructions.  Instead, I turned up 1/4″ and stitched it down.  Then I turned up 1″ and blind hem stitched it down, by machine, of course.100_3310_Fotor The only other deviation from the pattern I made was to use the same fabric for the binding.  I like this dress and will most likely make it again, although I’m not sure when.  Winter is coming and I see velvet on my horizon.  However, next time I pull this pattern out, I will try to buy the correct amount of fabric. 🙂

I will leave you with one of the pictures we took to try to show the fullness of the skirt with it in motion.

100_3309_Fotor

7 responses to “A Floral Dress in the Fall – McCalls 6834 Pattern Review

  1. Pingback: A Twirl of Color Dress – Vogue 8997 Pattern Review | Elle L Silks

Leave a Reply

