A Simple White Blouse – Simplicity 1104 Pattern Review

I wanted a simple white top to wear to work and possibly wear to a dance competition.   I thought the Simplicity pattern 1104 might fit the bill, since I liked the shaping and the simplicity of the design.  I had just enough white Shantung Satin left over from a previous project, so it was meant to be.  As a pattern review, I used the the size 8 based on the finished garment measurements.

It looks like the picture on the envelope, sans the contrasting bias strip.  I was initially going to use black satin for that, but decided that it would be more versatile to forgo adding another color.  The instructions were easy to follow, but I remember going back to read the pleating section again to make sure I was doing it properly.  I lined it with leftover white Sassy Satin from another project.

I will most likely make this again, and possibly the dress version.  I actually made this top some time ago, but was undecided as to whether I wanted to move the zipper from the back to the side. Why? Because I can zip it fine, but for some reason I can not reach around enough to unzip it without help or a pair of pliers.  It wasn’t worth the time and effort to me to unpick the seams and all the understitching in the armhole, and my fabric and lining like to fray.  So, I will either be asking for help, or using pliers.  On the next version I may use a shorter zipper and a button at the top for a slight keyhole look at the back.

2 responses to “A Simple White Blouse – Simplicity 1104 Pattern Review

Leave a Reply

