A Festive Fourth of July Dress – Vogue 8972 Pattern Review

13620945_10105926000913695_3356780153302003797_n

I was invited to a wedding in Detroit, over the Fourth of July weekend.  I wanted to be weather appropriate and festive, and coordinate with my date, but instead of going dress shopping, I went fabric shopping.   He decided his tie and socks early on, and I decided to coordinate with them.  I also wanted a full skirt and a fitted bodice, so I dug into my patterns and came up with about four that might possibly work, then decided on one I hadn’t gotten a chance to make yet.  Vogue 8972, with it’s waist shaping and full skirt option, was my number one draft pick.  We went to Joann’s with no avail.  Then, on a last minute decision, we went to a liquidating Hancock Fabrics, and found the fabrics that said this dress was definitely meant to be.

As a pattern review, I made View D in a size 6 with an A cup bodice.   Oh yeah, let’s talk fabric! For the dress, the bodice – Red Shantung Satin, the midriff – Red, White, and Blue Plaid Cotton, and for the skirt – a Navy Blue that shimmers to Black Crinkle Taffeta. For the lining, bodice is self lined with the same Red Shantung Satin, the midriff is lined in a very lightweight White Satin, and the skirt is lined in Navy Blue Pongee Lining fabric.

As a design change/alteration, I used an invisible zipper and did not topstitch it.

I think it came out well. In future iterations I think I will scoop the neckline lower and possibly change to the B cup bodice pieces.  I also eventually want to make one of the sheath views.  By the way, the bolero is from McCalls 3033, with lengthened sleeves,  shaped back to match dress, and lined in plaid. 🙂  What can I say, I like to match. 🙂

7 responses to “A Festive Fourth of July Dress – Vogue 8972 Pattern Review

  1. Pingback: From Scraps to a Shirt – McCalls 7356 Pattern Review | Elle L Silks

Leave a Reply

