A Reminiscent of the Sea Dress – McCall’s 5292 Pattern Review

100_3504_Fotor

A few years ago, I decided I was going to get back into sewing, and I picked up a few patterns to start with.  My mom cautioned me to pick 5292patterns of clothes that I would actually want to wear, not just items that looked quick and easy.  One of the patterns I bought was McCalls 5292.  Then, as it is wont to do, life happened, and sewing was pushed to the way side again.  Along with the sewing machine, McCalls 5292 was put away in a drawer and forgotten about.  It seems that even McCalls has forgotten about it, because if you search for it on their website, it doesn’t come up.  The picture to the right is from the website sewing.patternreview.com.  You can see my review of the pattern there as well.  Fast forward to present day, As I was perusing my patterns while looking at this lovely, lightweight fabric of green, blue, and purple squares (one of the polyester charmeuse fabrics gifted to me by my mother), this one popped up and the yardage needed matched the yardage I was given.  In my world, that’s a sign that this dress finally needs to happen. 🙂 So I made it 🙂

As a pattern review, I sewed View C in a size 10. I based my sizing decision on the finished garment measurements on the pattern. This is an older pattern that is discontinued and the sizing in the 4-6-8-10 range is smaller than most of my current patterns.

100_3512_Fotor

I really liked the neckline and flared skirt, but my fabric was so lightweight, i decided to underline the skirt with the same fabric i used for the lining (a hunter green pongee lining fabric).  It was a little extra work, but I think it paid off in the finished product because the skirt hangs and wears nicely, without getting caught between my legs when I walk or stand.  Since the skirt is underlined, Instead of a 1-1/4″ hem, I used a narrow hem of about 5/8″. The only other alteration I made was simply for a clean finish on the interior.  The instructions have you machine stitch the midriff and midriff lining pieces together and then stitch them as one to the skirt, leaving that seam visible on the inside of the dress. For a cleaner finish, I stitched the midriff and skirt together, and then hand sewed the midriff lining down over that seam allowance.  Yes, I chose to hand sew of all things.  What can I say? My mom was right :), I like the look and feel of it better than leaving the raw edge.

100_3510_Fotor
I like it and I’m glad I finally made it.  And look, I included a twirling shot just for y’all! I think it would make a cute peplum-style top instead of a full dress and who doesn’t like options? 🙂  What do you think?

12 responses to “A Reminiscent of the Sea Dress – McCall’s 5292 Pattern Review

Leave a Reply

