An Elegant Day Dress – Simplicity 8013 Pattern Review

I love this dress! It’s definitely a lot of fabric and work, but look at it, how could I not?  The neckline, the sleeve, the skirt that goes on for days, how could I resist?  I simply couldn’t.  Simplicity 8013 had been calling to me since last year.  I saw this picture, and had to have this pattern. simplicity-dresses-pattern-8013-envelope-front The recommended fabric requirement for the floor length version is a daunting 10 yards of 45″ fabric or 7 3/4 yards of 60″ fabric, not to mention 3 more yards for the lining.  10 yards of fabric can be an expensive proposition and when I made the first muslin it didn’t fit out of the package, so I set this pattern aside.

Out of sight was not out of mind however, and I decided to pull it back out just in time for spring.  In the right mindset to troubleshoot, I made another muslin and encountered the same issue as before. The back was fine, but the front pieces weren’t wide enough at the waist to allow the seam to fall correctly. I corrected this by adding a wedge to the side seam of each front piece, approximately 1/2″ wide at the waist, tapering to nothing at the armpit.  Given the skirt is a quite fully gathered one (an understatement really, since I did use all four side panels), I didn’t add any width to the skirt panels.

As a pattern review, I made View D in a size 6, with the aforementioned alteration.  I used a blue, black, and purple patterned crepe from Fabric Mart.  It feels nice and was just the right weight. The dress is lined in a black posh lining fabric from Joann.  I’m 5’8, so I cut the sleeves and skirt pieces about a 1/2″ longer just in case they weren’t long enough.  I also french seamed the skirt pieces together.  When I gathered the skirt to the waist of the bodice, I noticed that following the directions left more gathering to the sides of the hips, and less in front, likewise in the back.  I like that detail a lot.  Instead of buttons for the cuffs, I used black hooks and eyes.

I really do love this dress, and think it was worth the time spent on it.  I’ve included a twirling picture below, because how could I not?  🙂

KODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still Camera

 

2 responses to “An Elegant Day Dress – Simplicity 8013 Pattern Review

Leave a Reply

