The Matrix Dress – McCalls 6886 Pattern Review

I have so many complicated patterns, and few simple ones.  I finally got around to purchasing McCalls 6886, a simple knit dress pattern.  I mixed and matched view features for the look I wanted and that’s definitely part of the beauty of this pattern. I had a knit from Fabric Mart Fabrics that reminds me of The Matrix, and I think it was perfect for it.  I love it!

As a pattern review I made View F with the length of View C instead of the longer length on View F. I also used the long sleeves of View B and lengthened them by 2 inches (I’m 5’8″).

KODAK Digital Still Camera

This dress is so flattering and comfortable. It’s a great basic and I’m so glad I got a chance to try it out. I will definitely be experimenting with it. 🙂

5 responses to “The Matrix Dress – McCalls 6886 Pattern Review

  1. Looks great. Did you make any pattern changes to obtain the great fit? Such as, did you need to lower the bust area or take in the side seams, etc.? Thank you. I have this pattern and am nervous about making it. Knits are different to sew on. I was thinking about making a neck facing instead of turning under, or is this not a big deal? Thanks again fpr your input.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 no I didn’t have to make any adjustments. I chose a size with finished measurements that reflected slightly negative ease since that’s how I like knits to fit. There are no darts. I made the vneck with the binding piece. You could always measure the other neckline and use a piece slightly smaller. Or the facing if you prefer. I’m going to make it again with a boatneck modification and most likely use a facing for that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

