A Jacket For Dance – McCalls 7026 Pattern Review

100_3296_Fotor  100_3290_Fotor

I’ve had McCall’s 7026 in my stash for a while, I fell in love with the back shaping as soon as I saw it. I just couldn’t figure out what kind of fabric I wanted to use to make it.  Every time I went to the store looking for something, nothing jumped out at me.  I saw other reviews from people using lightweight knits for running jackets, but I get cold easily and wanted something a  little heavier.  I had some leftover red fleece in my stash and a free weekend before a dance competition so I made a muslin of the size 6 to test it.  I consider this muslin quite wearable, even without a zipper.

As a pattern review, I used a red fleece to make the the size 6 of View C (shown above and to the right) without the lace and trim.  The instructions were easy to follow, the pieces were well drafted and fit together nicely.  I really like the shape of the jacket, especially the back and the hand cuffs.  I didn’t use a zipper because I didn’t go anywhere that day and don’t keep separating zippers on hand.  I actually like it without the zipper and I love the fit and shape of the back.

100_32972_Fotor

This muslin has proven quite wearable. I wanted this jacket for the cold ballrooms at dance competitions. I’ve worn it to two now and it keeps me warm while I wait and if I dance in it before I warm up, it moves with me and doesn’t swing and hit my leader. I would definitely make it again, perhaps with the hood and a zipper for outdoor wear.

6 responses to “A Jacket For Dance – McCalls 7026 Pattern Review

  1. That is super cute! I have that pattern and have been looking for fabric that would be suitable, but haven’t found the right thing. Maybe I’ll copy yours and try fleece! Thanks for the idea…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment