Tropical Print Birthday Dress – Inspired by McCalls 6887

Look, it’s my birthday dress! I’m posting this a month late (sorry), and I didn’t wear it on my birthday (I was at a dance event), but I did wear it to my birthday dinner two days before.  As I walked into the restaurant a girl gave me a compliment on it and said she wanted one, so I consider that #winning.  That tropical print knit fabric was found on FabricMart Fabrics website.  I saw it and knew I had to have it, it represented the vacation I haven’t taken yet this year, LOL.  I decided to make McCalls 6887, again.  I made it in the straight skirt version the first time, as you can see here.

As a pattern review, I made a modification of the full skirted version of the McCalls 6887.  Since I used a knit on a pattern made for woven fabric there were a few modifications that needed to be made.  The tropical print is lightweight so I underlined it in a heavier black knit (also from FabricMart Fabrics).  I initially made the size 6 in the woven so I made it smaller for the knit.  I deepened the neckline, and moved the section that crosses the back down 3/4″.  Since my version is not lined, in order to finish the neckline, armholes, cutout, and hem I turned over and stitched.

Yay for the birthday dress!  What do you think?

10 responses to “Tropical Print Birthday Dress – Inspired by McCalls 6887

Leave a comment