Shorts with Pockets – New Look 6100 Pattern Review

FYI, I wrote this last year and never took pictures so sorry in advance.  Spring and Summer are almost here and I want/need more shorts. Since I’ve been sewing so much I decided to try my hand at making them instead of buying them.    I found the New Look 6100 pattern, and decided to purchase it.  Next we need fabric, right?  I wanted something substantial, yet soft.  On a whim at lunch one Friday, I stopped by a local fabric shop that caters to bridal customers (unfortunately this shop has since closed 😦 ).  I found this white satin in their remnant bin, it certainly fit the requirements of stiff yet soft at the same time.

As a pattern review, I used View A from the envelope.  This pattern is straightforward and the instructions are clear.  I don’t wear belts, so I omitted the carriers and tie. I interfaced the waistband with fusible interfacing instead of organza.  🙂 I have to admit, I was hesitant about adding the cuffs, very hesitant.  But when I tried the shorts on during construction, I decided that the cuffs would be necessary for the shorts to be flattering.  I continued following the instructions and added them with no issues.

I like the crisp clean lines of these shorts. Even though they sit higher on the waist than I prefer (I’m a low rise kind of girl), I think they are flattering. I was excited about them after I made them and wore them to a WCS (West Coast Swing) dance that weekend.  Someone looking at them asked me to turn around slowly, and then said “I’m not trying to be rude, but where’s the zipper?”  I showed them the side and said, “It’s invisible!”  Think that means I inserted it well enough? LOL FYI, the top they are pictured with is Lekala 5665, which I made this week, and the review can be read here.

3 responses to “Shorts with Pockets – New Look 6100 Pattern Review

  1. Pingback: Cute Pink Crop Top – Lekala 5665 Pattern Review | Elle L Silks

Leave a comment